FAQ 2018-2019

Is the ASA truly bilingual ?

The ASA is actually a French-language school that offers instruction in French and English.


What is the proportion of instruction in both languages ?

We want out students to be strong in French and good in English. All students receive therefore 76% of instruction in French. From kindergarten to the end of cycle 3, English represents 24%.


Do you encourage reading?

Absolutely! The students devour books and texts, both on paper and on laptops or tablets, particularly classics of French and English-language children’s literature. Our wonderful library provides an ideal atmosphere for reading and discovery.


Does the Academy provide a laptop computer or tablet for each student ?

Yes, each student has a tablet or laptop in the classroom, because while traditional teaching methods continue to be used, ICTs are incorporated into the instruction: information retrieval, multimedia creation, publishing, and so on. In addition, instruction is sometimes given by way of a flipped classroom, e-learning or an online course, approaches that enable students to work at their pace and from a distance.


Is the end of grade 6 celebrated?
Yes, we celebrate the end of kindergarten and grade 6 with a graduation ceremony and an event to mark this important milestone.


Given that the ASA puts a lot of emphasis on literature, bilingualism and the arts, does this disadvantage a scientifically minded child?

Quite the opposite; this child will be very happy at our school! This is because the Academy is just as focused on technopedagogics and science. He or she will even have the opportunity to conduct experiments in our laboratories and practice horticulture! We even introduce robotics in kindergarten!


How long is recess?

A 25-minute recess is scheduled for both morning and afternoon. The lunch period is 55 minutes long and includes enough time for eating, indoors and outdoors activities.


Are there sports and outdoor activities?

Our students have physical education and outdoor play every day. Don’t forget that they have access to a gym and a large outdoor space right on the school premises… Come and see our brand new synthetic field! Track and field, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, team sports… there are so many possibilities that we even have gardening in the spring! We also have a farmhouse, flower and vegetable gardens.


Does the school have a day care program?

Of course! All students are welcomed by our day care staff as of 7:00 a.m.! Music, supervised activities and educational games are also on the menu. When classes are over, from 3:15 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., extracurricular activities are offered. At 4:00 p.m., the after-school program begins with a wide range of activities as well as a homework period.


Do teachers give a lot of homework and lessons?

No! There is a balance between work at school and work at home. The advantage of enrolling your child in the day care is the homework and lessons service that is supervised by our staff.


What training do the Academy teachers have?

In addition to having a solid background in an appropriate field, they are creative and innovative, and therefore up-to-date with the latest developments in education and skilled with technological tools. They are excellent communicators in their teaching language, and have great general knowledge. They also stand out by their ability to be a team player and their commitment to develop students’ talents.


Does the Academy encourage a sense of belonging?
All students at Sainte-Anne Academy were recently placed into one of 18 houses, each with its own colours. Each house comprises 30 students of various ages. The purpose of this system? To develop a sense of belonging, solidarity and team spirit. The houses also allow children to build significant relationships with adults other than their own teacher since all staff members are associated with a house. The names of the houses reference personalities who have influenced the history of the Academy, such as founding members of the Royal Montreal Golf Club (McGill, Robinson…), specific nuns of Sainte-Anne who left their mark (Dion, Lafleur…) or important historical figures (Casgrain, Tekakwhitha…).

Do students have access to specialized services?

The Academy intends to provide, where needed, specialized assistance or support services fostering motivation, perseverance and academic success. Tutoring, academic upgrading, remedial instruction, speech pathology, psychological support, assistance centre for French, English, math, science… everything is possible!


What happens when a child is sick or has a fever?

He or she is taken to see the receptionist, who immediately contacts his or her parents. A child who has a fever or is vomiting is not allowed to stay at school.


Do you take into account a certain balance in the distribution of boys/girls?

One of the criteria of the Academy is to be a coeducational school, therefore to ideally have 50% girls and 50% boys.


How many students does the Academy accommodate?

Our capacity is limited to approximately 590 students. The following table details the number of classroom groups planned and the maximum number of students per group:

Number of groups Number of students/group
Kindergarten 4 24
Cycle 1
Grade 1 3 24
Grade 2 3 24
Cycle 2
Grade 3 3 28
Grade 4 3 28
Cycle 3
Grade 5 3 30
Grade 6 3 30



Is an anglophone student who attends the Academy able to complete secondary studies in English?

Yes, if such student is eligible to attend English-language school according to the regulation of the Ministère.


What are the tuition fees?

From kindergarten to grade 6, these fees are the same for everyone. For the year 2018-2019, they are at $7,950.


Is there an admission exam?

No! After the submission of the admission file, the student can be invited to attend a learning assessment workshop so we can evaluate the child’s knowledge and observe his or her communication and cooperation skills.


What is Next Generation Learning?

It is a pedagogical model created at Sainte-Anne to bring changes to education and propose a vision that is innovative, effective and relevant. This model rethinks the roles of teachers, focuses on the key skills to be developed in students to ensure their success in the world of tomorrow and presents winning conditions for development. This model places particular emphasis on differentiation, which requires teachers to combine different teaching methods to better take into account each student’s pace and style of learning.


How do you incorporate coding, programming and robotics into your educational program?

Coding, programming and robotics are part of the Academy’s science courses. Every week students of the Academy explore these topics with the BeeBot robot in kindergarten, the ScratchJr application and LEGO® WeDo construction sets in cycles 1 and 2, and Mindstorms® EV3 in cycle 3. In addition, Grade 6 students have access to 15 hours of online programming courses, original content developed by Sainte-Anne in collaboration with ChallengeU.

FAQ 2018-2019

L’ASA est-elle vraiment bilingue ?

L’ASA est en fait une école francophone qui offre l’enseignement en français et en anglais.


Quelle est la proportion de l’enseignement dans l’une ou l’autre de ces langues ?

Tous reçoivent 76 % de l’enseignement en français. De la maternelle à la fin du 3e cycle, l’anglais représente 24 %.


Encouragez-vous la lecture ?

Absolument! Les jeunes dévorent des livres et des textes, aussi bien sur papier que sur portable ou tablette, particulièrement les canons de la littérature jeunesse francophone et anglophone. Notre magnifique bibliothèque offre un environnement propice à la lecture et aux découvertes.


Est-ce que l’Académie fournit un ordinateur portable ou une tablette électronique à chaque élève ?

Oui, chaque élève a une tablette ou un ordinateur en classe, car sans négliger pour autant les méthodes traditionnelles, les TIC sont intégrées dans l’enseignement : recherche documentaire, création multimédia, publication… De même, l’enseignement se fait parfois par classe inversée, cyberapprentissage ou cours en ligne, des approches qui permettent de travailler à son rythme et en mobilité.


La fin de la 6e année est-elle soulignée ?
Oui, nous soulignons la fin de la maternelle et de la 6e année par un événement marquant ce passage important.


L’ASA met beaucoup l’accent sur la littérature, le bilinguisme, les arts… Un enfant à l’esprit scientifique ne risque-t-il pas d’être désavantagé ?

Au contraire, cet enfant sera très heureux chez nous! Car l’Académie est tout autant axée sur la technopédagogie et les sciences. Il pourra même faire de la manipulation et de l’expérimentation dans notre laboratoire de créativité, de l’horticulture et de la programmation. Nous introduisons même la robotique dès la maternelle!


Quelle est la durée de la récréation?

Il y a deux récréations de 25 minutes, une le matin et l’autre l’après-midi. La période du dîner est d’une durée de 55 minutes et comprend un temps suffisant pour manger, des activités à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur. Tous ont donc le temps d’aller jouer dehors!


Font-ils du sport, des activités de plein air ?

Nos élèves font de l’éducation physique et du plein air chaque jour. N’oublions pas qu’ils ont accès à un gymnase et à un vaste espace extérieur sur les lieux mêmes de l’école… Venez voir notre immense terrain synthétique! Athlétisme, ski de fond, raquette, sports d’équipe… les possibilités sont si grandes que nous faisons même du jardinage au printemps! Nous avons une fermette, des jardins et des potagers.


Est-ce que l’école a une halte scolaire ?

Tous les élèves peuvent être accueillis, sans frais, dès 7 h, par le personnel de la halte scolaire! Musique, activités supervisées et jeux éducatifs sont aussi au programme. Après les classes, de 15 h 15 à 18 h, des activités parascolaires sont offertes. À partir de 16 h, l’élève peut retrouver la halte scolaire qui propose un choix d’activités et une période de devoirs.


Les enseignants donnent-ils beaucoup de leçons et devoirs ?

Non! Il y a équilibre entre le travail à l’école et le travail à la maison. L’avantage d’inscrire son enfant à la halte scolaire est qu’il sera supervisé par des surveillants-éducateurs.


Quel profil ont les enseignants de l’Académie ?

En plus d’avoir une solide formation dans un champ approprié, ils sont créatifs et innovants, donc au fait des nouveautés pédagogiques et habiles avec les outils technologiques. Excellents communicateurs dans leur langue d’enseignement, ils ont une bonne culture générale. Ils se distinguent aussi par leur esprit d’équipe et leur sensibilité au développement des talents des élèves.


L’Académie encourage-t-elle le sentiment d’appartenance ?
Les élèves de l’Académie Sainte-Anne sont répartis dans 18 maisons, comportant leurs propres couleurs. Chaque maison est composée de 30 élèves d’âges différents. L’objectif de ce système? Développer le sentiment d’appartenance, la solidarité et l’esprit d’équipe. Les maisons permettent aussi aux élèves de bâtir des liens significatifs avec d’autres adultes que leurs propres enseignants. Chaque membre du personnel est en effet associé à une maison. Les noms des maisons évoquent des personnalités qui ont influencé l’histoire de l’Académie comme les fondateurs du Royal Montreal Golf Club (McGill, Robinson…), les religieuses de Sainte-Anne qui ont marqué les lieux (Dion, Lafleur…) et des personnages historiques importants (Casgrain, Tekakwhitha…).

Les élèves ont-ils accès à des services spécialisés ?

L’Académie peut offrir, au besoin, des services d’aide ou de soutien spécialisés favorisant la motivation, la persévérance et la réussite scolaire. Tutorat, récupération, orthopédagogie, orthophonie, aide psychologique, centre d’aide en français, en anglais, en mathématique, en sciences… tout est envisageable!


Que se passe-t-il si un enfant est malade ou fiévreux ?

Il est accueilli par la réceptionniste qui communique immédiatement avec ses parents. Un enfant fiévreux ou qui vomit ne peut demeurer à l’école.


Tenez-vous compte d’un certain équilibre dans la répartition garçons/filles ?

Un des critères de l’Académie est d’être une école mixte, donc idéalement d’accueillir 50 % de filles et 50 % de garçons.


Combien d’élèves accueille l’Académie Sainte-Anne ?

Notre capacité d’accueil est limitée à approximativement 590 élèves. Le tableau suivant vous précise le nombre de groupes-classes prévu et le maximum d’élèves par groupe :

Nombre de groupes Nombre d’élèves/groupe
Préscolaire 4 24
Premier cycle
1re année 3 24
2e année 3 24
Cycle 2
3e année 3 28
4e année 3 28
Cycle 3
5e année 3 30
6e année 3 30



Un élève anglophone qui fréquente l’Académie peut-il ensuite faire son secondaire en anglais ?

Oui, si cet élève est admissible à l’école anglophone, selon le règlement du Ministère.


Quels sont les droits de scolarité ?

De la maternelle à la 6e année, ces droits sont les mêmes pour tous. Pour l’année 2018-2019, ils atteignent un maximum de 7950 $.


Y a-t-il un examen d’admission ?

Non! Après dépôt du dossier d’admission, l’enfant peut être convoqué à des ateliers pédagogiques d’observation pour que nous puissions vérifier ses acquis et ses aptitudes de communication et de collaboration.


Qu’est-ce que le Cours de demain ?

C’est un modèle pédagogique créé à Sainte-Anne pour faire évoluer le milieu de l’éducation et proposer une vision qui soit novatrice, efficace et pertinente. Ce modèle repense les rôles de l’enseignant, se penche sur les compétences clés à développer chez l’élève pour qu’il réussisse dans le monde de demain et présente des conditions de développement gagnantes. Ce modèle met notamment de l’avant la différenciation, qui demande à l’enseignant de combiner différentes méthodes d’enseignement afin de mieux tenir compte du rythme et du style d’apprentissage de chaque élève.


Comment intégrez-vous le codage, la programmation et la robotique dans votre projet éducatif ?

Le codage, la programmation et la robotique font partie des cours de sciences de l’Académie. Chaque semaine, les élèves de l’Académie s’initient à ces univers avec le robot BeeBot en maternelle, l’application ScratchJr et les kits de construction WeDo de LEGO® aux premier et deuxième cycles du primaire, ainsi que Mindstorms® EV3 au troisième cycle. De plus, les élèves de 6e année ont accès à des cours de programmation en ligne, un contenu original développé par Sainte-Anne en collaboration avec ChallengeU.